لماذا لا يزال من الصعب استبدال الصين " مصنع العالم "

Oct 08 2021

تعظيم كفاءة التجمعات الصناعية في الصين

Sourcing Suppliers


نقطتي الأولى تتعلق بكفاءة الإنتاج .ونحن نعلم جميعا أن الكفاءة - سواء كانت كفاءة الطاقة أو كفاءة سلسلة التوريد - يمكن أن تقلل من التكاليف .


خط أنابيب هو مثال على الكفاءة .في خط التجميع ، عملية الإنتاج ينقسم إلى عدة خطوات ، والتي تتم في تسلسل ، كل عامل يضيف قليلا على المنتج تحت خط الانتاج .


هيونداي خط التجميع لأول مرة في الولايات المتحدة صناعة التعبئة والتغليف اللحوم في القرن التاسع عشر ، ثم هنري فورد تطبيقها على مصانع السيارات في عام 1913 لأنها توفر التكاليف .فورد خفض سعر تي من 850 دولار إلى أقل من 300 دولار بسبب الوفورات الناجمة عن هذه العملية الجديدة .


خط التجميع يوفر التكاليف لأن معظم العمال في المصنع هم من العمال غير المهرة الذين تلقوا التدريب على مهمة بسيطة محددة .وهذا يعني أن المصانع لا تحتاج إلى استئجار العديد من العمال المهرة ( التي تكلف أكثر ) كما في كثير من الأحيان لإنتاج المنتج بأكمله .وبالمثل ، في خط التجميع ، جميع المكونات اللازمة لإنتاج المنتج هي في الواقع في متناول اليد ، مما يجعل من الممكن تجميع المنتج بسرعة أكبر .من خلال توظيف عدد قليل فقط من العمال المهرة ، من خلال تعظيم الإنتاجية لكل عامل ( نفس الراتب سوف تزيد من الإنتاج ) ، من خلال تقليل الوقت اللازم لتصنيع المنتجات ، يمكن للمصنع توفير التكاليف وزيادة الإيرادات .


الآن تخيل مجموعة كاملة من التصنيع مثل خط التجميع .الصين قد تحسنت كفاءة خط التجميع ليس فقط في المصانع ، ولكن أيضا في مجموعة كاملة من الصناعات التحويلية ، حيث المصانع المرتبطة صناعة معينة ، مثل المنسوجات ، تتركز .هذه المجموعات هي مثل خط التجميع الكلي ، والأعمال التجارية الصغيرة والمتوسطة بمثابة التروس التي توفر الغذاء على نحو فعال أكبر الحيوانات البرية في هذه الصناعة .


الجوارب الصينية المدينة هي واحدة من هذه التجمعات الصناعية .يقع في داتانغ ، مدينة Zhuji بمقاطعة تشجيانغ ، وتنتج 30 ٪ من الجوارب في العالم .سوف تجد أن جميع المصانع ذات الصلة في هذه الصناعة تتركز في هذه المجموعة -- من جورب آلات خيوط .تشجيانغ وجيانغسو وقوانغدونغ حقن القالب مصنعين مجموعات مماثلة .هذه المجموعة يجلب القدرة التنافسية المرتبطة سلسلة التوريد إلى المصانع التي لا مثيل لها في الخارج أو في أي مكان آخر في الصين .


هذه المجموعة هي واحدة من الأسباب صنع في الصين على الرغم من ارتفاع الأجور في البلاد ، فإنه لا يزال يمكن أن توفر المشترين الغربيين مع أكثر تنافسية الأسعار .


وهناك أيضا وفورات الحجم .في الصناعة التحويلية ، أكبر إنتاج ، وانخفاض تكلفة الوحدة .العديد من المصانع الصينية لديها القدرة على الإنتاج الضخم الذي لا مثيل له في بلدان أخرى .


تصدير البنية التحتية للنقل

وعلى العكس من ذلك ، فإن الهياكل الأساسية للنقل في التجمعات الصناعية ومناطق التصنيع الأخرى في الصين يمكن أن تكون قابلة للمقارنة أو حتى تجاوز ما يسمى بالعديد من البلدان المتقدمة النمو .ويمكن القول إن النظام الإيكولوجي الصناعي للبلد بأكمله يهدف إلى تعزيز الصادرات .وقد أتاح ذلك وصول المواد الخام إلى المصانع بسرعة ، ونقل المنتجات النهائية بكفاءة إلى العديد من موانئ البلد ، مما أدى إلى خفض التكاليف مرة أخرى .


الهياكل الأساسية في بلدان مثل الهند وفيتنام توصف بأنها بدائل محتملة لشراء من الصين ، ولكن الهياكل الأساسية في هذه البلدان لم اللحاق بالركب ، على الرغم من أن بكين لا تزال تستثمر في الهياكل الأساسية لتعزيز تباطؤ الاقتصاد .


خذ الهند على سبيل المثال .وفقا لتجربتي ، على عكس معظم الموردين الصينيين ، مصنعين الهندي على الفور فهم احتياجات المشترين الغربية من حيث معايير الجودة وتوقعات التسليم .نوعية التصنيع الهندي هو أيضا جيدة جدا .ولكن البنية التحتية للنقل يمكن أن يسبب الاختناقات .


قبل بضع سنوات ، لقد شهدت ذلك بنفسي عندما أمرت عميل غربي في مصنع في لوديانا ، شمال البنجاب ، الهند .النظام هو من نوعية جيدة جدا ، وقد تم الانتهاء من المصنع في الوقت المحدد .ولكن إرسال البضائع إلى الميناء مثل محاولة إرسالها إلى الفضاء .في الواقع ، فإنه يأخذ وقتا أطول للوصول إلى الميناء من المصنع من المورد لجعل المنتج .


هذا التأخير غير فعالة ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة التكاليف ، وفقدان المبيعات ، وحتى الشركات التي تضع طلبيات تفقد العملاء .


ولذلك ، على الرغم من أن العديد من البلدان الآسيوية هي في الواقع بدائل التصنيع الصينية ، والصين لا تزال لديها ميزة تنافسية في الصناعة التحويلية .في رأيي ، الشركات الغربية سوف تكون قادرة على نقل الصناعات التحويلية من الصين حتى المنافسين يمكن أن تتنافس مع المصانع الموجهة نحو التصدير الصينية والبنية التحتية للنقل ، ولكن بالتأكيد لا ينبغي أن نتوقع " الأسعار الصينية " بعد الآن .

أحدث مدونات

Why It May Be Difficult to Unseat China As the “world’s Factory” Just Yet

Oct 08 2021

China’s industrial clusters maximise efficiency

Sourcing Suppliers


My first point relates to production efficiency. We all know efficiency – be it energy efficiency or supply chain efficiency – minimises costs.


The assembly line is one instance of efficiency. In an assembly line, the production process is broken into steps that are completed in a sequence, with each worker adding one more bit to the product going down the line.


Modern assembly lines were first introduced in the American meatpacking industry in the 19th century after which Henry Ford adapted them for his automobile factories in 1913 because they saved costs. Because of the savings this new process brought him, Ford cut the price of the Model T from $850 to less than $300.


Assembly lines save costs because the majority of workers that factories hire can be unskilled workers who are trained just to do one specific simple task. This means factories don’t need to hire as many skilled workers (who are more expensive) to make the entire product as they normally would have had to. Similarly, on an assembly line, all the components required to make that product are literally within arm’s reach, allowing the product to be assembled faster. By hiring only a small number of skilled workers, by maximising each worker’s productivity (same pay more output), and by reducing the time taken to manufacture a product, factories save costs and increase revenue.


Now imagine an entire manufacturing cluster that works like an assembly line. China has perfected assembly line-like efficiency not only within its factories but in entire manufacturing clusters, where factories related to one particular industry, say textiles, are concentrated. These clusters act like a macro assembly line with small to medium enterprises working as cogs that efficiently feed the larger beast that is the industry.


China’s Sock City is one such manufacturing cluster. Located in Datang in the city of Zhuji in Zhejiang Province, it produces 30% of the world’s socks. You will find all factories related to this industry concentrated in this cluster – from sock machines to threads. There are similar clusters for factories manufacturing injection molds in Zhejiang, Jiangsu and Guangdong provinces. This clustering give factories a supply-chain related competitiveness that factories abroad or even elsewhere in China struggle to match.


Such clusters are one of the reasons why Chinese manufacturers can still quote the most competitive prices to buyers in the West despite the country’s rising wages.


Then there are economies of scale. In manufacturing, the higher the volume, the cheaper the cost per unit. Many Chinese factories have a massive production capacity that factories in other countries are yet to match.


Export-oriented transport infrastructure

China’s industrial clusters and its other manufacturing zones are, in turn, serviced by transport infrastructure that rivals or perhaps even surpasses that of many so-called developed countries. The country’s entire industrial ecosystem, so to speak, is designed to facilitate exports. This allows raw materials to swiftly reach factories and completed products to be efficiently ferried to the country’s many ports, resulting in lowered costs again.


The infrastructure of countries such as India and Vietnam that are being touted as possible alternatives to sourcing from China are yet to catch up even as Beijing continues to invest in infrastructure to boost its slowing economy.


Take India, for instance. In my experience, unlike the majority of Chinese suppliers, Indian manufacturers immediately understand what Western buyers want in terms of quality standards and delivery expectations. The quality of India’s manufacturing is also very good. But its transport infrastructure can cause bottlenecks.


I experienced this first hand a few years ago when I worked on an order for a western client with a factory in Ludhiana, in the northern Indian state of Punjab. The quality of the order was great, and the factory completed it on time. But sending the consignment to the port was like attempting to send it into space. In fact, it took longer for the product to reach the port from the factory than it did for the supplier to manufacture the product.


Such delays are inefficient, leading to increased costs, loss of sales or even loss of customers for the business that has placed the order.


So though several Asian countries are indeed alternatives to China manufacturing, China still has an edge in manufacturing competitiveness. In my opinion, till these competitors can match China’s export-oriented factory and transport infrastructure, western companies will certainly be able to move manufacturing out of China, but they – and the end customer – certainly should not expect “Chinese prices” anymore.

Latest Blog